Monday, Jan. 12
Back in the States

Now that I’m home with a fast WiFi connection, I’m uploading hundreds of photos and videos I took during my trip. Thought you might want to see a few of my favorites that didn’t make it onto the blog already. Turn on your sound!

A video of the sandstorm my travel companions and I hit in Timbuktu:

Here, my Cameroonian village family celebrates after I delivered more than $1,000, contributed by readers of this blog, to pay school fees. Those moving lights are glow-in-the-dark bracelets worn by people who are dancing. The sounds? Singing and cheering.

This Malagasy man showed me the process of creating silk, which later is used to weave scarves, from silkworms’ coocons. Here, he hangs the coocons out to dry.

Drying coocons is part of the silk-production process.

Drying coocons is part of the silk-production process.

Kumasi’s open-air market is, I believe, the biggest one in West Africa. I walked around it for hours just watching the scene and the people.

Bagged water may not be environment-friendly, but it’s cheap, clean and popular in West Africa:

Mmmm... water in a bag.

Mmmm... water in a bag.

A fruit that’s common in Mali… You open it up, then suck on these orange balls, which have a seed inside. So good.

Cant remember the name of this fruit.

Can't remember the name of this fruit.

Tombs like this are common along the side of the highway in Madagascar.  They’re used for an entire family, and can be closed and then reopened many times to accomodate the tradition practiced by some Malagasy of digging up a relative’s bones years after they die to hold a special funeral.

Malagasy tomb.

Malagasy tomb.

 To see more photos and videos, click the Flickr link on the right side of the homepage. I’m still sorting through them all, so they’re not yet in perfect order.

